Back to top

Somerville Dance Fest

Somerville Dance Fest


Fri., July 27, 7:00pm to 10:00pm


70 Union Square, Somerville


You are here

Zoe Dance presents Somerville Dance Fest featuring a dozen dance groups.

Dancers hailing from Somerville, Boston, Philadelphia, Maine, New York and Ireland, will utilize video projection as its common thread at this free outdoor festival in Union Square. Each group is asked to use the same setup consisting of a scrim being placed in front of the stage with video projecting onto it. This will create an illusion of the live performers having the same “weight” than that of the video in the front. If you don’t know what this dance “thing” is, we encourage you to come on out and see! This is a great way to experience dance—without having to buy tickets!

Dancers and troupes include, Alicia Christofi-Walshe (IRE), Zoe Dance, Jimena Bermejo-Black and Ali Ross, Luminarium, Aparna Das, Kelley Donovan, Weber Dance, Marcia Rotondo, Falling Flight Project, Loren Grenendaal (PHILLY) and Contrapose.

Zoe Dance Company has been presenting mainly its own work since 2002 in the greater Boston area as well as internationally in Santiago, Chile. Zoe has also been presented by World Music/CRASH Arts, The Dance Renewal Project, Boston Center for the Arts, Somerville Arts Council’s “ArtBeat” festival—the list goes on. Zoe Dance has received several grants from the Somerville Arts Council, awarded a finalist for the Boston Dance Alliance’s Rehearsal and Retreat Fellowship and has received numerous reviews and mentions in the Boston Globe, the Boston Herald, and other local publications. Zoe Dance strives to enliven the public space by offering public performance installations that are free and open to all.

Rain date, Sat, July 28

Somerville Mini-Maker Faire
Sat., October 13, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Honk in Union
Fri., October 5, 3:00pm to 5:00pm
What the Fluff?
Sat., September 29, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Melaa! A Celebration of Nepali Culture in Union Square
Sat., September 22, 4:00pm to 8:00pm
Project MUM
Sat., September 15, 9:00pm to Sun., September 16, 1:00am
Spokes 2012: A Somerville Bike Fest!
Sat., September 8, 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Rock and Roll Yard Sale
Sun., August 19, 11:00am to 5:00pm
SATURDAY NIGHT! Hungry Tiger Street Food Festival
Sat., August 11, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Nibble Book Release Party
Wed., July 25, 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Printmania
Sat., July 7, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Boston Handmade
Sat., June 30, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Bazaar Bizarre
Sun., June 24, 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Bazaar Bizarre: Union Made
Somerville Grooves Listening Parties
Wed., March 28, 6:00pm to 8:00pm
somerville grooves logo
Chicha Night
Thu., March 15, 7:00pm
Ginger Explosion 3
Mon., February 6, 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Saturday Dance Matinee
Sat., February 4, 3:00pm to 8:00pm