Back to top

Spokes 2012: A Somerville Bike Fest!

Spokes 2012: A Somerville Bike Fest!


Sat., September 8, 5:00pm to 9:00pm


70 Union Square, Somerville


You are here

Ride, repair and relish in Somerville's bicycle culture!

SPOKES will feature free bike maintenance workshops, bicycle goods, info on bike activism/awareness, bike art and more. Come share your love of all things bicycle and all things Somerville!

3:00-5:00pm: The Somerville Bicycle Committee will lead a "Tasting Tour of Somerville" bike ride through the streets of Somerville to benefit the Welcome Project. Check out the Facebook event page for details: http://www.facebook.com/events/448226095198600/.

5:00-7:00pm: Bike repair workshops, vendors, bike activism info, and more.

7:30-9:00pm: Free bike-in movie screening of "PeeWee's Big Adventure." Dinner/snacks sold by Lefty's Silver Food Cart, Culinary Cruisers and the TAZA Chococycle. Picnic blankets encouraged.

9:00pm: S.C.U.L. invites civilian bike craft to come along for a post-event night ride through the city. There will be music.

Festival details and updates can be found on the SPOKES Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/events/265313896905897/.

Rain date:  Sun., Sept. 9
 
 
>>>>>>>>>>>
 
 
Tasting Tour of Somerville (A Fundraiser for The Welcome Project)
The Somerville Bicycle Committee will lead riders through the squares of Somerville, stopping at six restaurants to sample a smattering of local flavors. This is a leisurely ride suitable for all levels.

An RSVP is required to hold your spot. Please email: jacy.edelman1@gmail.com and specify number of riders/full names. Spots are limited to 40 and will fill on first come, first served basis.

Cost: $30 per person. 25% of fee proceeds to cover food cost with the remaining funds to benefit The Welcome Project: http://www.welcomeproject.org. Info on the option to be a "sponsored" rider will be emailed with your RSVP confirmation. All riders will also receive a free YUM card ($10 value), which will give you 10% off at various local immigrant-run restaurants (http://www.welcomeproject.org/yumsomerville).

Restaurant stops include:
1. Union Square: Catina La Mexicana
2. East Somerville: Maya Sol
3. Magoun Square: Wang's Fast Food
4. Ball Square: SoundBites
5. Teele Square: Amelia's Kitchen
6. Davis Square: Redbones

A Tasting Tour of Somerville will proceed the SPOKES 2012: A Somerville Bike Fest happening the same day in Union Square Plaza from 5-9pm. Ride, repair and relish in Somerville’s bicycle culture!  http://www.facebook.com/events/265313896905897/

The Tasting Ride is brought to you by ArtsUnion, the Somerville Arts Council, and ShapeUp Somerville.

Somerville Mini-Maker Faire
Sat., October 13, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Honk in Union
Fri., October 5, 3:00pm to 5:00pm
What the Fluff?
Sat., September 29, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Melaa! A Celebration of Nepali Culture in Union Square
Sat., September 22, 4:00pm to 8:00pm
Project MUM
Sat., September 15, 9:00pm to Sun., September 16, 1:00am
Rock and Roll Yard Sale
Sun., August 19, 11:00am to 5:00pm
SATURDAY NIGHT! Hungry Tiger Street Food Festival
Sat., August 11, 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Somerville Dance Fest
Fri., July 27, 7:00pm to 10:00pm
Nibble Book Release Party
Wed., July 25, 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Printmania
Sat., July 7, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Boston Handmade
Sat., June 30, 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Bazaar Bizarre
Sun., June 24, 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Bazaar Bizarre: Union Made
Somerville Grooves Listening Parties
Wed., March 28, 6:00pm to 8:00pm
somerville grooves logo
Chicha Night
Thu., March 15, 7:00pm
Ginger Explosion 3
Mon., February 6, 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Saturday Dance Matinee
Sat., February 4, 3:00pm to 8:00pm